Multitude OnDeck: Ashaya Robinson @lamontmarcus @itsmeashaya

This Atlanta-born songbird hums angelic melodies inspired by many of soul music’s greatest live vocalists–igniting a powerful sound embodying an apparent depth required to withstand the demanding notes of a classic love ballad–yet fragile and versatile enough to harmonize the everyday experiences of the average adolescent woman. Emerging into the realm of rising artists to watch–Ashaya’s vision to shed light and sing sincere stories from her soul for the world to engage makes this SoulStar a special seed planted into the soil of popular music–the next step is watching her grow. #PEEP our OnDeck interview:

OnDeck: Ashaya Robinson

Name: Ashaya
Hometown: Atlanta, Georgia
Current City: Washington DC (Graduate of Howard University– B.A in Radio Television– concentration in Film Production)
Genre: R&B
Members(If Group): SOLO
Website: flavors.me/ashaya and  www.ashayajukebox.wordpress.com

(Multitude) Q: Who are your Influences?:

(ASHAYA): Musically– soulful powerhouse singers. I have always loved to hear the power and strength in someone’s voice. I would emulate singers like Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan, Whitney Houston, Mariah Carey, and Patti LaBelle–all my favorite singers. I think the common thread with each of these ladies is that they can stand on the stage with just a mic on a stand and deliver an incredible performance. I didn’t really have vocal training until my teens, so I would study these artist’s. I would listen to the studio recorded version of a song– learn that from back to front– then find a live version of the same song to study the way they would sing it then. My dad also influenced my appreciation for all different types of music. He introduced me to most of the “timeless pieces”– my favorite songs like Love Love Love by Donny Hathaway, Mothership Connection by Parliament, and introduced me to jazz greats like Charlie Parker to Public Enemy. I’ve been blessed to have very eclectic sounds in my house growing up.

(Multitude): Q: What Inspires your music?

(ASHAYA): I would say that real life inspires my music–more specifically, my album Jukebox Remedy is a real life story. When I first sat down and decided I really wanted to go forth with recording a full length album, I knew that it had to be something I would listen to. So I started putting a playlist of some of my favorite songs together and analyzed them trying to figure out what made that song amongst my list of favorite songs. What I found that each song had in common was all stemming from a real emotion– a true story– something I could relate to, if not personally, in some way indirectly. I set out to make music that people relate to, that simply reflects life. Honest emotions inspire my music.

(Multitude) Q: What is themessage behind your music?:

(ASHAYA): I honestly just want to make positive music. The message is that every situation is meant to be– leading you into the next phase of your life better prepared.
 

(Multitude) Q: What do you bring to the World of Music?:

(ASHAYA): I think I bring a different sound to the world of music. Although I have certainly been influenced by each of the amazing artists I afore mentioned, I think I have been able to fuse everything I love from different genres into my music–in such a way that it creates something totally unique to myself.

(Multitude) Q: Independent or Major?:

(ASHAYA):  Independent ( difficult yet rewarding when it comes to the creative process)

(Multitude) Q: Love/Hate The Current State of Music? Why?:

(ASHAYA): (Ummm…) I think it is a love/hate relationship for me actually. I have never been someone to speak badly on someone else’s art form–if that’s what you do more power to you– However, I do wish that there were more artists highlighted who take an interest in what is going on in their own communities. [There’s] Nothing wrong with having a good time– So i’m not knocking club music. But music is also supposed to ignite and inspire change and forward movement. I have a song on my album called Beauty in Me that I hope inspires a certain level of confidence in one’s self that I believe is necessary to really reach all that you aspire to be.

(Multitude) Q: Projects Available/Coming Soon?:

(ASHAYA): My debut single, “XOXO” is available for download and my album JukeBox Remedy will be available at the end of August.

(Multitude) Q: Would Love to work with?:

(ASHAYA): I would love to work with Diane Warren, she is one of the most amazing songwriters I’ve ever heard of. I would also love to work with Brandy as a vocal arranger on a song–she truly has an incredible ear for vocal arrangement.


(Multitude) Q: Goals:

(ASHAYA): I just want to make timeless music–something that can be appreciated now but doesn’t depreciate in value later.

(Multitude) Q: This journey/process has taught me______?:

(ASHAYA): This journey in following my dream to be a singer/songwriter has taught me that it is not for the faint of heart. Off stage i’m a very reserved/ quiet person. My mom told me when I was discussing with her my plans to release an album, that I should be ready to have thick skin, and that everybody is not going to be your biggest fan. Some people will act as though they are while you’re experiencing success–but the moment you stumble they are no where in sight. She just told me to be aware of that. Going after this career has really taught me to be confident and believe in myself and the talent and will power that God has granted me.

(Multitude) Q: Advice/Encouragement for others:

(ASHAYA): If you don’t believe in you….then that’s step one. Be confident, yet humbled enough to hear constructive criticism.

FOLLOW Ashaya & Producer(XOXO) Lamont Marcus –>> @ItsMeAshaya @lamontmarcus

–@allthingsmitch

One Response to “Multitude OnDeck: Ashaya Robinson @lamontmarcus @itsmeashaya”

  1. CAN’T WAIT FOR THE ALBUM!!!!! READY FOR THE WORLD TO HEAR GREAT MUSIC!!!!

Leave a Reply

